All roads lead to the Principality Stadium on Sunday.

Everyone at Bedwas RFC is looking forward to Sunday’s Championship Plate Final at the Principality Stadium, Cardiff, kick-off 1-00pm.

This is the clubs’ first ever appearance at the Stadium. Head coach Stefan Sankala reflected on this in his comments:

“It gives me absolute pleasure to be able to walk out onto our national stadium this week, in what will be a memorable occasion for all involved at Bedwas RFC. This one is for all volunteers, staff and supporters that have stuck by this squad during a season of inconsistencies and over a difficult period through a pandemic.

I feel we have shown some great intent this season and entertained in lots of areas and so hope we can put on a show Sunday and one that continues to make everyone proud. It’s great we have an opportunity to make our own piece of history and will do our best to bring home some silverware back to the Bridgefield.

I would also like to thank the coaches, staff, and players for their continued hard work this season and want everyone associated with Bedwas RFC to make Sunday a day to remember. This is a time to celebrate with friends, family and our community and ensure that Sunday is all about enjoyment.

See you all soon, an enormously proud coach, Sanky”

Bedwas have named a twenty-three-man squad for the game. Unfortunately, regulars Harry Oliver, Matty Bancroft and Rory Harries miss out due to prebooked holidays, but we welcome Dylan Morgan and Joe Cowell on permit from Maesteg Quins and Cardiff Met, respectively.

The squad is: 15. Hamish Anderson, 14. Aaron Billingham, 13. Matty Williams, 12. Lewis Bowden, 11. Dafydd Thomas, 10. Dion McIntosh, 9. Dylan Morgan; 1. Ben Drew, 2. Mike Dacey, 3. Rhys Hutcherson, 4. Ben Sier, 5. Craig Hudd (Captain), 6. Dale Rogers, 7. Rhys Morgans, 8. Alex Bourne.

Replacements: 16. Joe Cowell, 17. Kalum Phillips, 18. Corey Bushell-Thomas, 19. Owen Jones, 20. Rhys Jones, 21. Sam Davies, 22. Alec Jones, 23. Liam Jenkins.

There will be a team of five match officials. They are Referee John Darcy, AR1 Tom Spurrier, AR2 Greg Morgan, AR3 Simon Davies, AR4 Paul Hughes, TMO Jon Mason.


The game will be shown live on S4C.

Following the game the clubhouse will be open until 9-00pm,