2008/2009 Principality Premiership
Bedwas 17 v 22 Llandovery
25 October 2008 - Bridge Field, Bedwas

Match Report

Llandovery earn win at the Bridge Field


Bedwas RFC 17 Llandovery RFC 22

Principality Welsh Premiership Saturday 25 October 2008.

Match report by John Meredith, photographs by Ian Lovell.

In the first of two home games back at the Bridge Field Bedwas entertained Llandovery. Like ourselves Llandovery find themselves towards the foot of the division, however, they are never an easy proposition and like to play rugby as it should be played.

Playing towards the clubhouse in the first half Bedwas scored the first points of the afternoon via a Stuart Thomas penalty goal. Llandovery replied with a good try through hardworking Number 8 Lloyd Williams, young outside half James Ettridge adding the extras. Llandovery continued to dominate the first half centre Rhys Williams adding a try and Lloyd Williams notching his second try, Ettridge adding a conversion to give his side a commanding, deserved half time lead of 19 points to 3.

Bedwas rang the changes at the start of the second half, Rob Suffield replacing Dai Atkins, Morgan Allen for Rob Downes and Simon Jones for James Pizey. Bedwas began putting some moves together, trying very hard against a determined Llandovery rearguard. It was, however, the visitors who scored the first points of the half with a monster long range penalty from the boot of Ettridge.

Bedwas continued with determined efforts, Stuart Thomas adding three penalty goals. Bedwas had chances to cross the line on several occasions but resolute defence kept them out, before Simon Jones crossed for a try wide out, Stuart Thomas unable to ad the extras. Bedwas went flat out for the win to no avail and Llandovery deservedly held on for their first win of the season.

Bedwas coach Steve Law

‘Very disappointed, can’t knock the boys for trying. It’s going to be a hard season for us’


‘Llandovery deserved to win and belittled their bottom position in the table. They were totally the better side on the day’

Brendan Lampitt attackes the Drovers backline

Gareth Leonard has Adam Brown in support

Matthew Minty attacks

Stuart Phillips moves in

Official : Phil Fear (Wales)

Bedwas Llandovery