2007/2008 Principality Premiership
Bedwas 54 v 25 Llandovery
08 September 2007 - Bridge Field, Bedwas

Match Report

Bedwas blitz Cup Holders

Bedwas blitz Cup Holders.

Bedwas RFC 54 Llandovery 25 Principality Welsh Premier Division Saturday 8 September 2007. Match report by Geoff Watkins, photograph by Ian Lovell

A much anticipated match, Llandovery, the Konica Minolta Cup holders looking to add to their narrow opening match win at Newport, but were buried by a seven try avalanche. Bedwas building up an early substantial lead and then improving on it, the result the highest Premiership score of the day. This will surely be a confidence boost to the team and loyal Bridgefield supporters alike.

The match was entertaining and full of running from both sides with Bedwas full back STUART THOMAS the man of the match with 19 points from five conversions and three penalties.

Bedwas opened the scoring with a 3rd minute STUART THOMAS penalty and just five minutes later an aggressive forward drive had flanker NEIL LEWIS charging through from close in, STUART THOMAS adding the conversion. A defence splitting run by wing NATHAN HILL and a well timed pass put flanker ROBERT DOWNES in at the posts, STUART THOMAS once again converting. Bedwas kept up the pressure and forwards and backs combined well for centre RHODRI GOMER DAVIS to find the gap after fourteen minutes of non stop action. STUART THOMAS added the conversion and then slotted a difficult penalty, Llandovery finding themselves trailing 24-3 at the end of a breathless first quarter. Llandovery’s sole points coming from a 17th minute penalty by outside half STEFFAN REES. The Drovers are not without spirit and made a strong comeback hammering the Bedwas line but well disciplined, heavy tackling defence kept them out. However towards the end of the half Llandovery scored two good tries through big lock STEVE COVINGTON and hooker ADAM YELLAND, Bedwas gaining a penalty by STUART THOMAS for a 27-13 half time lead.

The second period opened with a defence splitting run by NATHAN HILL from 40 metres resulting in a fine try converted by STUART THOMAS. Bedwas continued to dominate with hooker BEN FLOWER going on a solo charge for the line only to tackled three metres short of the line. Llandovery fought back with powerful forward play and a willingness to run the ball but it was the home side that mounted a fluent move over 60 meters at pace, wing ADAM HUGHES crossing at the corner flag. STUART THOMAS adding a huge touchline conversion after 53 minutes.

Bedwas replaced hooker BEN FLOWER with PETER HARRISON and flanker NEIL LEWIS with PHIL SARGENT the Drovers coming back with arty from wing CHRIS MATHIAS. STUART THOMAS added a third penalty before a spate of scores in the final ten minutes. Llandovery were awarded a penalty try converted by substitute outside half RICHARD CUNLIFFE before Bedwas had the last word with two late tries from sub hooker PETER HARRISON and sub scrum half JAMES PIZEY.

A resounding win and Bedwas now face a tough match at CROSSKEYS on Saturday 22 September 2007.


Very happy to get bonus points from a hard match although it was a comfortable win in the end. Our ambition was to play a fast game and score tries and we achieved that with seven well taken tries. The last ten minutes of the first half saw us dropping our work rate, and making errors and leaking points but we came back with an improved second half performance.


A scruffy game at times, Bedwas took their chances very well using their pace which reflects their seven tries. We tried hard enough but were too disjointed. Overall a disappointing match for us and calls for a huge improvement will be made.

     BEDWAS                                                          LLANDOVERY

Stuart Thomas                    15                                     Ioan Davies

Adam Hughes                     14                                     Chris Mathias

Rhodri Gomer Davis             13                                     Mike Jones

John Welch (Capt)               12                                      Dafydd James

Nathan Hill                          11                                      Owain Rowlands

Jason Tovey                        10                                      Steffan Rees

Simon Jones                         9                                      Rob Walters (Capt)

John Tilley                            1                                       Phil John

Ben Flower                           2                                       Adam Yelland

Aled Williams                       3                                       Ben Broster

Sion Dafydd                          4                                       Hayden Pugh

Adam Brown                         5                                       Steve Covington

Neil Lewis                             6                                       Jack Lydiate

Robert Downes                      7                                       Gareth Williams

Deri Mattravers                      8                                       Gareth Bennett


Brian Edwards (for Williams 60 mins) 16                            Endaf Howells

Peter Harrison (Flower 65 mins)        17                             Emyr Phillips

Brendan Lampitt (not used)               18                             Glyn Davies

Phil Sargent (Lewis 65 mins)             19                             Chris Jenkins

James Pizey (Jones 65 mins)            20                             Wayne Williams

Matthew Pizey (Hill 70 mins)             21                             Richard Cunliffe

Dai Atkins (Welch 62 mins)               22                             Viv Jenkins


Adam Hughes takes on the Drovers defence

Official : Jonathan Mason (Wales)

Bedwas Llandovery